On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the "Paläontologische Gesellschaft", we cordially invite you to participate in the 2012 Annual Meeting organised by the Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin.

The Centenary Meeting’s theme is Palaeontology in Society – 100 Years of the Paläontologische Gesellschaft, underscoring the relevance of palaeontology not only to science, but also to society and the public at large. The deep time perspective of the fossil record provides a unique baseline for current environmental concerns such as global climate change, loss of biodiversity, and the recovery from mass extinctions. Palaeontology also raises public awareness in addressing questions about the origin and the evolution of organisms, ourselves included. "Palaeontology in Society" also refers to the multidisciplinary and integrative nature of palaeontological research includ­ing organismic and molecular biology, geology, and geochemistry. Finally, "Palaeontology in Society" highlights the role of palaeontology in communicating authentic research, based on real fossils, to the general public.

This jubilee conference takes place under the auspices of the German Federal Minister of Education and Research, Prof. Dr. Annette Schavan. The meeting is dedicated to celebrating the past and, more importantly, to exchanging and developing new ideas and projects "in society" with your colleagues.

Address of welcome by Annette Schavan, Federal Minister of Education and Research

Annette Schavan, Federal Minister of Education and Research


I congratulate the members of the Paläontologische Gesellschaft on its centennial anniversary! A century of the Paläontologische Gesellschaft is also a century of science history. During this time, not only has the science and its ‘lessons from the past‘ changed dramatically, but also its interconnections to society, economics and politics.

Palaeontology unquestionably is needed more than ever to answer urgent questions about our future: the insights from palaeontological research help us meet the great challenges of climate change and threats to biologic diversity.

To master these challenges, the best scientists worldwide must work together. The Paläontologische Gesellschaft has recognised the primacy of international cooperation since its founding, framing itself not just as a national society but as a research society for the entire German-speaking world. The Paläontologische Gesellschaft, via its journal, international meetings and its networks, has for a century contributed greatly to the internationalization of German palaeontology, and to the preservation of its high international standing.

Care for scientific collections is a fundamental requirement of top-tier research, establishes a historical legacy of prior work, and lays a foundation for future scientific endeavours. Accordingly, the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) supports collections-based research in German museums. Together with individual German states, the BMBF has outlined a future development strategy for research museums, with a focus on ‘Sprache der Objekte’ (‘Messages from Objects’), and further opportunities for support.

The scientific competence of the Paläontologische Gesellschaft contributes to Germany’s ability to meet its environmental responsibilities. The Paläontologische Gesellschaft also provides this competence to international scientific networks. This work is essential for understanding the relationships between society and nature, and for the sustainable managment of our limited natural resources.

I wish the Paläontologische Gesellschaft and its members all the best and success for the future.

Federal Minister for Education and Research

Last update: 07.07.2014

Aus Anlass des 100-jährigen Bestehens der Paläontologischen Gesellschaft laden wir Sie herzlich zur Jahrestagung 2012 ein, die das Museum für Naturkunde Berlin ausrichtet.

Mit dem Rahmenthema der Jubiläumstagung, Paläontologie in Gesellschaft – 100 Jahre Paläontologische Gesellschaft, unterstreichen wir die Relevanz der Paläontologie nicht nur für die Wissenschaft, sondern auch für die Gesellschaft und die breite Öffentlichkeit. Die von Paläontologen erforschte Erd- und Lebensgeschichte bietet ausgezeichnete Bezugspunkte für die Beurteilung von gegenwärtigen Umweltproblematiken, wie den globalen Klimawandel, den Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt und die Erholung der Lebewelt nach einschneidenden Aussterbeereignissen. Fragen nach dem Ursprung und der Evolutionsgeschichte der Organismen, den Menschen inbegriffen, erzielen hohe öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit. „Paläontologie in Gesellschaft“ bezieht sich auch auf die multidisziplinäre und integrierende Ausrichtung moderner paläontologischer Forschung, in der Paläontologen zukunftsweisende Partnerschaften mit organismisch und molekular ausgerichteten Biologen, Geologen und Geochemikern eingehen. Schließlich verweist „Paläontologie in Gesellschaft“ auf die ausgezeichnete Rolle der Paläontologie in der Vermittlung authentischer Forschung anhand von echten Fossilien an eine interessierte Öffentlichkeit.

Diese Jubiläumstagung wird von der Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung, Frau Prof. Dr. Annette Schavan, als Schirmherrin unterstützt. Die Tagung ist der Erforschung des vergangenen Seins gewidmet und – mehr noch – dem Austausch und Entwickeln neuer Ideen und Projekte „in Gesellschaft“ mit Ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen.

Grußwort von Annette Schavan, Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung

Annette Schavan, Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung

Ich gratuliere allen Mitgliedern der Paläontologischen Gesellschaft zu ihrem 100-jährigen Bestehen! 100 Jahre Paläontologische Gesellschaft sind gleichzeitig auch 100 Jahre Wissenschaftsgeschichte, in der sich nicht nur die Wissenschaft und mit ihr die „Lehre vom alten Sein“ tief greifend verändert, sondern auch soziale, ökonomische und politische Zusammenhänge rasant entwickelt haben.

Es steht außer Frage, dass die Paläontologie mehr denn je für die Beantwortung der drängenden Zukunftsfragen benötigt wird: Die Erkenntnisse paläontologischer Forschung helfen uns, den großen Herausforderungen des drohenden Klimawandels und der Gefährdung der biologischen Vielfalt zu begegnen.

Um diese Herausforderungen zu meistern, müssen die weltweit besten Wissenschaftler miteinander kooperieren. Die Paläontologische Gesellschaft hat die überragende Bedeutung internationaler Kooperation schon zum Zeitpunkt ihrer Gründung erkannt. So hat sie sich dezidiert nicht als nationale Gesellschaft, sondern als Forschungsgesellschaft für den gesamten deutschsprachigen Raum verstanden. Seit hundert Jahren leistet die Paläontologische Gesellschaft mit ihrer „Paläontologischen Zeitschrift“, der Ausrichtung internationaler Fachtagungen und ihren Netzwerken einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Internationalisierung der deutschen Paläontologie und damit zum Erhalt ihrer internationalen Spitzenposition.

Zu den Voraussetzungen für paläontologische Spitzenforschung gehört es auch, die Sammlungen als Vermächtnis früherer Leistungen zu pflegen und als Grundlage künftiger Forschung zu erhalten. Deshalb fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) die sammlungsbezogene Forschung in den Museen. Gemeinsam mit den Ländern hat das BMBF Positionen zur strategischen Weiterentwicklung der Forschungsmuseen formuliert und mit einem Schwerpunkt zur „Sprache der Objekte“ weitere Fördermöglichkeiten eröffnet.

Die Paläontologische Gesellschaft trägt mit ihrer wissenschaftlichen Kompetenz dazu bei, dass Deutschland seiner umweltpolitischen Verantwortung gerecht werden kann. Auch in internationalen Wissensnetzwerken vermittelt sie diese Kompetenzen. Das ist der Schlüssel, um die Zusammenhänge von Natur und Gesellschaft zu verstehen und zu einem nachhaltigen Umgang mit den begrenzten Ressourcen zu gelangen.

Ich wünsche der Paläontologischen Gesellschaft und ihren Mitgliedern alles Gute und viel Erfolg für ihre weitere Arbeit!

Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung

Stand: 07.07.2014